Your Opinion: Judging A Book By It’s Cover

7 Jun

 You have probably heard of this and I will credit OP= Oblivious Prattler for inspiring me to make this article! 

Winx Club: The Secret of the Lost Kingdom

Winx Club: The Secret of the Lost Kingdom (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

When people criticize Winx they usually put it in one category- Slutty Merchandise.
This a is example of Critical Research Failure (yes, I am a troper) and in some of these articles they really don’t know what they are talking about. Look at this:

New examples of the sexualization of girlhood crop up all the time. Of

course there are the dolls that look like Sesame Streetwalkers — Monster High, Winx Club, Bratz…

Okay,and I will show you a another quote:

The program in question is called ‘Winx Club,’ with some strange additional ‘Believix’ designation. I do not pretend to understand anything about it. It seems to involve fairies.

The guy who wrote this- Russell Saunders actually commented on Una Di Noi Here is the comment:

Well, just to clarify a couple of things.

First of all, I’m not really a journalist. I’m just a guy with a politics/medicine/general interest blog.

The quote that’s linked above (and I’m not too proud to admit I’m delighted to have been noticed around here) is from a post I did that has a tongue-in-cheek element that doesn’t really come through out of context, and probably wouldn’t come across to people who don’t read the blog regularly. It comes off as more dismissive above than it’s meant to be.In any case, I will admit that I’ve not seen the show, largely because it’s on regular Nickelodeon and I don’t let my son watch television with commercials yet. My daughter is still an infant, and when she’s old enough I’m sure I’ll have no problem letting her watch. But I’m sorry, I really do think those outfits are far too skimpy, and are consistent with a manner of dress that’s too mature for little girls. Perhaps that’s prudish, but there you have it.

Here is the comment he was replying to:

To be honest, the Believix comment is what angers me the most. That commenter could have watched the show to see what Believix is, or even gone on the Winx Wikipedia page..I hate it when people don’t even bother with getting to know the canon. People, if you have to criticize us, at least do some basic research beforehand. I’m not angry at them because they criticize them. I’m angry because they don’t even follow basic journalism rules.-Ophira

Here is another comment that was replying to the first one;

Also, just to clarify, I’m a parent of 2 girls ages 8 and 2. I’ve watched Winx Club with my daughters. I would suggest actually watching a show before commenting on just the clothing aspects of it. It’s not the sort of approach you’d want your child to take right? Just to judge something by how it looks?

Why not just use the DVR to record a few episodes and fast forward through the commercials since you don’t want to over materialize your child? -Meggy81

Russell Saunders replied again to Meggy81;

Well, no. I’m not making broad judgments about the show based just on the outfits. I’m quite willing to accept the possibility that it’s a perfectly lovely program that communicates valuable lessons in a fun and relatable way. That’s certainly the impression I get from the comments here.

But the way the program draws viewers is through its ads. The burden is on the show’s creators to communicate what it’s about, not on me to research it. And the first thing I notice in the ads, beyond the magic powers and flying around and such, is that the characters are all drawn with impossibly unrealistically perfect bodies and wearing very revealing clothing.

Well then OP replied with:

The ads do communicate what the show’s about: magic, friendship, and adventure. That’s what they emphasize. But as I said in part II of my article, kids don’t notice the same things we do. (I’m twenty-four years old, by the way.)

As an adult, you see the characters and immediately notice their revealing clothes and impossible body proportions. A child wouldn’t see those things unless they understood the concept of unrealistic beauty. Sometimes, it’s the parents that “expose” their kids to it without intending to, simply by bringing it to their attention. As they say, “Ignorance is bliss.”

Now in the case of a child who is aware, you would need to address their thoughts. That’s why knowing your child is important.

I agree that companies need to take responsibility for how their characters are portrayed. But does it make sense to believe they’re all part of some sort of conspiracy to sexualize children? I can tell you for sure that’s not the goal of Winx Club.

Before I end this post I will show you a couple comments On Russell’s Blog

Look, I GREW up (as apposed to most of you) watching this show as a child, and believe me I watched it periodically. I was about 9-10 years old when I started watching Winx Club on 4Kids, and I loved the show (what girl wouldn’t love a show about magical fairies kicking the butts of enemies/awesome plot/great morals about friendship, loyalty, and justice?). Look, now I’m ranting.
Yes I agree that the girls are dressed a little skimpy, but not in the way you loonatics proclaim it to be. When I watched the show as a child I never viewed the girls as sexualized objects, and I did not grow up watching it saying “Oh gosh, I want to dress how they do!” I was more concerned about watching my favourite fairies kick monster butt. Just because adults see the show as “sexualized”, does not mean children do too (in fact most of them don’t).
Frankly, who would watch a show about fairies dressed in full outfits from the 1800′s? I would not blame children’s shows for telling girls how to dress; blame your female pop sensations such as Nicki Minaj, Brittany Spears, Katy Perry, etc etc. they are much more

English: Nicki Minaj at 2010 MTV Video Music A...

English: Nicki Minaj at 2010 MTV Video Music Awards. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

influential on kids than these shows. Kids don’t pay attention to the outfits in a way that makes them want to dress like them.
Please, you all need to give your heads a shake. I was a child growing up watching the show, and I would just like to point out that the outfits the girls wore did not influence what I wore as a kid. Children are not being affected by what the Winx Girls wear, only the nazi-parents that shadow their children from these shows because they view it as too “sexualized”, and they constantly tell their kids “don’t dress in this sexualized manner”. Seriously, I grew up watching Pokemon, Sailor Moon, Winx Club, Bratz, etc etc, and these shows in no way dictated to me how I should dress. Plus, I never turned out like a “streetwalker” that you claim the girls are dressed as.
Shame on whoever(s) wrote this. You aren’t children, so sure you may automatically see the girls as sexual objects, but kids think differently. I was one of these kids, and I will emphasize it again that I WAS NOT influenced to dress like the Winx Club girls.-TruthTeller

Some dude replied with:

 Look, I GREW up (as apposed to most of you)

True enough.

Russell replied with;

Thanks for your perspective, TT.

I think there’s a lot of daylight between dressing cartoon characters in tiny, skin-tight garments and wanting them to be wearing petticoats. And I’m not planning on prohibiting my kids from watching this show, though I’m still trying to keep them away from television with commercials for as long as possible. Finally, I agree that, were I inclined to pin blame for little girls wanting to dress like Rihanna, I would pin it on Rihanna.

That said, I don’t know if I think it’s entirely sound to generalize from your experience to everyone. Just because you don’t perceive yourself to have been influenced by the attire of the characters on this show doesn’t mean that nobody would be. How concerned anyone should be about that potential is obviously up for debate, but I don’t think you can dismiss that potential out of hand.

Question: Do you hate when people don’t do the research? 

2 Responses to “Your Opinion: Judging A Book By It’s Cover”

  1. Maggie June 7, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Reblogged this on Life of an Daydreamer.

  2. Sweetbreeze Tornado July 17, 2014 at 11:27 pm #

    Yes, I DO get annoyed by that. In fact, when I started watching this show, I ignored the revealing clothes, so did my younger sister, same with our friends. One of our friend’s mothers didn’t let her watch it because of the revealing clothes. She thought it was making her child too fancy. What was that supposed to mean? That her child wanted to be dressed like that? That’s not the point! Nobody (as kids, at least) care about what the girls wear! They like the show because of the plots, the adventures, the stories, etc.! These are 2D ANIMATED characters, people! Quoting TruthTeller: Give you heads a shake! Who would get affected sexually with 2D animated sights?! Go do some basic research! Your INITIATIVE and TECHNOLOGY’S out there for a reason. Use it! This is NOT a fashion show, it’s an adventure show. This comment (and many others) are NOT here for decoration! READ THEM. TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY.

Leave a Reply

